Metropolitan Police: The Divisions

The division is the basic unit of policing in the Metropolitan Police. The 23 divisions are grouped into four districts, all administered from Scotland Yard, where the district chief constables (and deputy assistant commissioners from 1933) and their staffs have their offices. The following is a list of each division with its usual name (in … Continue reading Metropolitan Police: The Divisions


Metropolitan Police: An Overview

London, the world’s largest city, is still policed by the world’s largest municipal police force, the mighty Metropolitan Police (never the London Metropolitan Police), often referred to as Scotland Yard after its headquarters. It is not yet known as the Met, a term which will not enter common usage until the 1960s. The force has … Continue reading Metropolitan Police: An Overview